Basketball (M)

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Seven Knights Transferring to 4-Year Schools


The 2016-17 season was the most successful in the history of the men's basketball program at San Diego City with a state championship, and now, seven players will be transferring to 4-year universities, including Darien McClain, Alex Wilbourn, Jahmere Mitchell, Romario Wilson, Leonard Allen, Steve Dreifuss, and Jaire Roberts.

Darien McClain, who made the game-winning shot to win the state title and was named MVP of the CCCAA tournament, has signed on to play at Azusa Pacific University next season. 

Alex Wilbourn, who made the All-PCAC team in both of his seasons at City, will play at the NCAA Division I level with Youngstown State University in Ohio.

Leonard Allen, an All-PCAC first team player for the Knights in 2015-16, has committed to play for Baylor University, a Division I program in Texas after taking last season off.

Romario Wilson and Jahmere Mitchell will both join Humboldt State in the Fall. Wilson was selected to the All-PCAC first team this season and Mitchell was given All-PCAC honorable mention. 

Steve Dreifuss will play at Penn State Altoona and Jaire Roberts will join the Western State Colorado University program. 

Nate Edwards, who was the emotional leader of the 2016-17 Knights, passed away shortly after committing to Western State Colorado University in April.