Welcome to Exercise Science!

 

We used to be called Physical Education – but things are different now. We've changed our name to Exercise Science to encompass all of the careers in this growing industry – and you will benefit.

 

Are you interested in helping people live a healthy life? Do you love exercise and want to share that with others? Do you want to be a fitness trainer and help people reach goals?


You can do it all here in Exercise Science.

 

You will be trained to be a group exercise leader and a personal trainer. You will learn the principles of exercise and physical conditioning, techniques of leading individual and group exercise classes, appropriate methods to establishing healthy behavior and the designing of personalized exercise prescriptions. You will be able to develop safe, effective exercise plans for a variety of clients.

 

Our Fitness Specialist certificate program will train you for entry-level or higher positions in the growing fitness industry.

 

Graduates will be qualified to be exercise testing technicians, fitness instructors, strength training instructors, aerobic instructors, and personal fitness trainers.

 

The fitness industry continues to experience growth and has an ongoing need for trained instructors and trainers in health clubs, fitness centers, and sports medicine clinics. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, fitness trainer jobs will increase by 10% in the next eight years.

 

Meet the Faculty        

 

Jennifer Aase 

619-388-3485 

jaase@sdccd.edu

 

Dede Bodnar

619-388-3544

dbodnar@Sdccd.edu

 

Christopher Brown     

619-388-3705

cbrown@sdccd.edu

 

Mitch Charlens           

619-388-3703

mcharlen@sdccd.edu

 

Gabriela Grant           

619-388-3422

 

Paul Greer     

619-388-3704

pgreer@sdccd.edu

 

Andrea Milburn          

619-388-3121

amilburn@sdccd.edu

 

LeeAnn Taylor           

619-388-3890

ltaylor@sdccd.edu

 

Ellen Turkel    

619-388-3127 

eturkel@sdccd.edu