IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR ALL EOPS STUDENTS:

Due to the current situation with COVID-19, our department is providing remote services.  The campus is closed until further notice.  For updated information regarding COVID-19, visit https://www.sdccd.edu/coronavirus/.
Our EOPS staff is available to provide services to you remotely via phone and/or online.
There are three ways you can request a counseling appointment:
  1. Click here to submit an online appointment request
  2. Email us at cityeops@sdccd.edu
  3. Leave a voice message on the EOPS main line (checked throughout the day):  (619) 388-3209
Counseling appointments will be held via Zoom unless you request a PHONE APPOINTMENT.  Please be prepared by watching this Zoom tutorial prior to your appointment. 
For COVID-19 Resources, click here.
For a Progress Report, click here and download to fill out and submit form.

Extended Opportunity Programs & Services

EOPS is a state-funded student support services program. Its purpose is to provide special recruitment, retention, and transition services to eligible students. The services offered are "above and beyond" those offered by the college's Student Services division. The primary services include assistance in the following areas: priority enrollment, counseling/advisement, and preparation for transition to four-year colleges and universities. For detailed information on all services offered and application procedures, please contact the EOPS Office.

Eligibility

You may be eligible to receive EOPS services if you meet all the following criteria:

  • You are a resident of the State of California, as determined by the Admissions Office.
  • You are (or plan to be) a full-time student taking 12 or more units (6 at City and/or ECC; remainder may be at Mesa or Miramar).
  • You qualify to receive a Board of Governors Fee Waiver A or B.
  • You have not completed 70 (or more) units of degree applicable college units, including courses taken at other colleges.
  • You are determined to be educationally disadvantaged.

Spring 2020 applications are now closed.  Thank you for your interest in the EOPS Program.  If you feel you may qualify for CARE or NextUp, please email us at cityeops@sdccd.edu.

Services

  • Academic/career/personal counseling
  • 4-year college/university transfer assistance
  • Book award/text book assistance
  • Priority enrollment
  • Tutorial referral assistance
  • Associated Student Body memberships
  • Financial Aid application assistance
  • Newsletter
  • CARE Program - state funded support program for single parent EOPS students
  • NextUp - supplemental program for current and former foster youth

EOPS scholarship 
The EOPS scholarship is available every fall semester. 
You may also visit the Scholarship page to view all scholarships offered through City College. 

Contact Us

Lillian Garcia, Director                                                          lgarcia002@sdccd.edu

 

Office Staff:

Juana Baca, EOPS Student Services Assistant                      jbaca@sdccd.edu

Ashley Burch, NextUp Program Technician                         aburch@sdccd.edu

Terri Jackson, EOPS Student Services Technician               tejackso@sdccd.edu

Lynn Lee, EOPS Senior Clerical Assistant                              llee001@sdccd.edu

Awana Payne, EOPS Student Services Technician               apayne@sdccd.edu

Myrtle Silas, EOPS Student Services Assistant                      msilas@sdccd.edu

Nancy Tong, EOPS Project Assistant                                       ntong@sdccd.edu

     

Counselors:

Salem Berhanu, EOPS Counselor                                              sberhanu@sdccd.edu

Donna Carter, EOPS Adjunct Counselor                                  dcarter@sdccd.edu

Kendrick Dial, EOPS Adjunct Counselor                                  kdial@sdccd.edu

Selam Gebrekristos, EOPS/NextUp Counselor Coordinator sgebrekristos@sdccd.edu

Isabel Gutierrez, EOPS Counselor                                             igutierrez001@sdccd.edu                  

Hadassah Nations, EOPS Adjunct Counselor                          hnations@sdccd.edu

John "Doc" Rivera, EOPS Counselor                                          jrivera@sdccd.edu

Margie Spikes-Tucker, EOPS/CARE Counselor Coordinator mspikes@sdccd.edu  

 

Cooperative Agencies Resources for Education (CARE)

CARE is a program for single parent students who receive CalWORKs cash aid and meet other eligibility criteria.  Services are designed to provide additional support and assist students to attain economic self-sufficiency by earning a certificate, an associate degree, or transfering to a four-year college or university.

Eligibility

  • Eligible for the EOPS Program
  • At least 18 years of age
  • Receiving CalWORKs cash aid assistance (for yourself and/or your children)
  • Parent/legal guardian of a least one child under age 18
  • Single head of household (determined by County HHSA) 

Services

  • Academic/personal/career counseling
  • Specialized workshops & support group
  • CARE direct grants
  • Campus meal cards
  • Campus bookstore gift cards (for school supplies)
  • Transportation assistance (semester bus pass or parking permit)
  • Conference attendance & networking opportunities
  • Family activities & events

To apply, complete the CARE Program application, and email to cityeops@sdccd.edu or submit in the EOPS Office (A-354). 

For more information about CARE, contact:  Margie Spikes-Tucker, CARE Program Coordinator/Counselor (619) 388-3249 mspikes@sdccd.edu 

NextUp

NextUp is a supplemental program of EOPS designed to support the educational goals and well-being of current and former foster youth.  It provides eligible students with additional support "over and above"  that which EOPS provides.  

Eligibility

  • California resident
  • Qualify for the CA College Promise Grant (formerly Board of Governors Fee Waiver)
  • Current of former foster youth whose dependency or wardship was established or continued by the court on or after the youth's 16th birthday 
  • Under the age of 26 at the beginning of the academic year
  • Enrolled in at least nine (9) units

Services

  • Academic/career/personal counseling
  • Priority enrollment (fall, spring, summer)
  • Assistance with completing the FAFSA (financial aid)
  • Assistance with applying for CHAFEE grant and scholarships
  • Text book assistance (book service award)
  • Transportation assistance
  • School supplies
  • Print cards
  • Direct financial grants
  • Food insecurity assistance (campus food pantry, grocery store cards, food vouchers)

To apply, complete the EOPS New Student Application and email to cityeops@sdccd.edu or submit in the EOPS Office (A-354).

For more information about NextUp, contact:

Summer Readiness Program (SRP)

The Summer Readiness Program is an 8-week summer orientation for first-time college students.  Students are enrolled in a Learning Communit consisting of English and Personal Growth classes.  They participate in social engagement activities to support their transtition from high school to college.

Eligibility

  • Qualify for the CA College Promise Grant (formerly Board of Governors Fee Waiver)
  • High school diploma or GED

To apply, complete the SRP application and email to cityeops@sdccd.edu or submit in the EOPS Office (A-354).

Contact

Location

San Diego City College
Room A-354

Phone: 619-388-3209
Fax:      619-388-3163
Email:  cityeops@sdccd.edu  

Mailing Address

San Diego City College 

EOPS

1313 Park Blvd

San Diego, CA 92101

Office Hours

Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 6:00 pm

Friday 8:00 am - 3:00 pm