Skip to main contentSkip to footer content

Academic Senate

AS logo

Dear Campus Community and Academic Senate delegates,

Our Academic Senate is eager to work and collaborate with our faculty, our administration, our district and the ASCCC (Academic Senate of Californina Community Colleges).

The Academic Senate's primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters specified on the 10+1. 

  1. Curriculum including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
  2. Degree and certificates requirements
  3. Grading policies
  4. Educational program development
  5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
  6. District and college governance structures, as related to faculty roles
  7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports
  8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
  9. Processes for program review
  10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development                                             
  11. Other academic and professional matters as are mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the academic senate

Our senate meetings are every other Monday from 2:30 to 4:30pm at MS-140. The meetings are public and everyone is welcomed! The more engagement from our faculty, the more powerful our senate becomes. Senators have a crucial role as they represent their departments/ programs when voting on issues presented at the senate.

We are eager to be able to engage in these meaningful and debatable matters that fall under the purview of our 10+1. 

In unity,

María-José Zeledón-Pérez, Ed.D - Academic Senate President 


2023 - 2024 SDCC Academic Senate Executive Committee:

President: Maria-Jose Zeledon-Perez mzeledon@sdccd.edu
President Elect & Comittee on Committees Chair: Mona Alsoraimi-Espiritu malsorai@sdccd.edu 
President of Chairs Cabinet: Soon-Ah Fadness sfadness@sdccd.edu 
Secretary: Norell Martinez nmartinez@sdccd.edu
Treasurer: Nick Slinglend nslingle@sdccd.edu 
Part-time Faculty Officer: Jose Enriquez jenriquez@sdccd.edu
Curriculum Review Committee Chair: Robert Kostlan rkostlan@sdccd.edu 

2023-2024 SDCC Academic Senate Meeting Dates

GENERAL MEETINGS ARE HELD IN MS 140

Fall 2023

  • Academic Senate General Meetings from 2:30 PM - 4:30 PM in Room MS-140: 9/11, 9/25, 10/9, 10/23, 11/6, 11/27, 12/11
  • Academic Senate Executive Committee Meetings from 2:30 PM - 4:30 PM in Room A-305a. Days and times may vary: 8/28, 9/18, 10/2, 10/16 (3:15pm-5:15pm), 10/30, 11/13, 12/4

Spring 2024

  • Academic Senate General Meetings from 2:30 PM - 4:30 PM in Room MS-140: 2/12, 3/4, 3/18, 4/8, 4/22, 5/6, 5/20
  • Academic Senate Executive Committee Meetings in Room A-305a. Days and times will vary: 2/5, 2/26, 3/11 (3:15pm-5:15pm), 4/1, 4/15, 4/29, 5/13

Department Senators

At-Large

Elizabeth Norvell

enorvell@sdccd.edu

Fall 2023 - Spring 2025

Apprenticeship

VACANT

 

 

Behavioral Sciences

Marie St. George

mstgeorg@sdccd.edu

Fall 2022 - Spring 2024

Black Studies

Daruis Spearman

dspearma@sdccd.edu

Fall 2022 - Spring 2024

Business Studies

Tania Mustafa

tmustafa@sdccd.edu

Fall 2022 - Spring 2024

Chicana/Chicano Studies

Octavio Garcia

ogarcia@sdccd.edu

Fall 2022 - Spring 2024

Communication Studies-- COMM, DJRN, DMPR, RTVF

Erin Engstrom

eengstro@sdccd.edu

Fall 2022 - Spring 2024

Cosmetology

Emily Garrido

egarrido@sdccd.edu

Spring 2024 - Fall 2025

Counseling

Crystal Rodriguez

crodriguez@sdccd.edu

Fall 2023 - Spring 2025

Disability Support Programs and Services -- DSPS

Darren Walters

dwalters@sdccd.edu

Fall 2023 - Spring 2025

Early Childhood Education

Denise Blaha

dblaha@sdccd.edu

 

Engineering and Technologies

Alexandra Perry

aperry@sdccd.edu

Fall 2022 - Spring 2024

English and Humanities-- ESOL, ENGL, PHIL, LABR, HUMA

Paul Lopez

mplopez@sdccd.edu

Fall 2022 - Spring 2024

EOPS/CARE/Next Up

Isabel Gutierrez

igutierrez001@sdccd.edu

Fall 2023 - Spring 2025

Health and Exercise Sciences

Andrea Milburn

amilburn@sdccd.edu

Spring 2024 - Fall 2025

History and Political Science

Pete Haro

pharo@sdccd.edu

 

Information Technology

Marc Biagi

mbiagi@sdccd.edu

Fall 2023 - Spring 2025

Languages

Jaime Estrada-Olalde

jestrada@sdccd.edu

Fall 2022 - Spring 2024

Learning Resource Center

Leann Mulholland

lmulholland@sdccd.edu

Spring 2024 - Fall 2025

Life Sciences

Kevin Jagnandan

kjagnandan@sdccd.edu

Spring 2024 - Fall 2025

Mathematics

VACANT

 

 

Student Health Center

Diana Hernandez

dhernandez001@sdccd.edu

Fall 2022 - Spring 2024

Nursing Education

Vasugi White

vwhite001@sdccd.edu

Spring 2022 - Fall 2023

Physical Sciences

Gerardo Scappaticci

gscappat@sdccd.edu

 

Visual and Performing Arts

Katie Stone

kstone@sdccd.edu

 

School Part-time Faculty Senators

Arts, Humanities, and Communications

Jodi Cilley

jcilley@sdccd.edu

Fall 2023 - Spring 2025

Behavioral & Social Sciences, and Consumer & Family Studies

Jennifer Cosio

jcosio@sdccd.edu

Fall 2023 - Spring 2025

Business, Information Technology, and Cosmetology

Charlotte Rankin

crankin@sdccd.edu

Fall 2023 - Spring 2025

Engineering & Technologies, Mathematics, Sciences, and Nursing

Becky Wheelock

rwheelock@sdccd.edu

Spring 2023 - Fall 2024

Health, Exercise Sciences, and Athletics

Nick Skvarna

nskvarna@sdccd.edu

Spring 2022 - Fall 2023

Off-Campus Programs

VACANT

 

 

Student Development/Matriculation

VACANT

 

 


Academic Senate Office Administrative Assistant

Ellyzah Lemus elemus@sdccd.edu

(619) 388-3578
Room A-305A


 

Shared governance, sometimes referred to as participatory governance, is the method in which campus constituent groups makes recommendations and participate in campus decision-making processes. As outlined in the statutory framework below, faculty have a specific role to play within the decision-making process as it pertains to academic and professional matters.

 

THE APPOINTMENT PROCESS

Faculty representation on committees is a vital part of shared governance. In accordance with AP 2510,  The SDCC Academic Senate’s  Committee on Committees (CoC) appoints faculty to committees at the campus, district, or other affiliate level, which includes appointments to ad-hoc committees and to hiring committees for positions other than faculty. Per the Senate Bylaws, membership in newly-established committees as well as vacancies on existing committees are to be filled in this manner. A log of committee appointments is kept by the Academic Senate Committee on Committees. All faculty members on any committee are appointed by the Academic Senate (Part-time and Full-time).

Please review the different types of requests below. 

1. For faculty hiring committees

A. The chair of the hiring committee (typically the department chair) must recruit committee members by soliciting participation from all department faculty to ensure an equitable process and diverse committee.  Please have faculty interested in being on a hiring committee contact whomever is recruiting for that hiring committee (dean, chair of hiring committee, department chair, other designee) in order to be considered for the committee. All faculty need to have their EEO training completed before submitting their name to be in the hiring committee

B. Once the chair has received sufficient faculty interest, they should choose  faculty (from the interested pool) members to serve on the hiring committee.  Chairs must consider the following factors to ensure committee diversity:                   i. Ethnicity/Race ii. Board protected classes iii. School or department iv. Full-time or adjunct v. Special experience or knowledge.

C. The chair should then gather information from each faculty committee member and complete this form: Request for Academic Senate Review of Faculty Assigned to a Hiring Committee.

D. The Academic Senate Committee on Committees will review the final list as submitted by the department chair of the faculty position in question and approve or provide recommendations to the committee chair within two weeks.

2. For those chairs of committees (including search/hiring committees for positions other than faculty hires) seeking faculty appointees

A. Go to our Committee Request Form to initiate the recruitment process.  You should receive a confirmation email upon completing the form.

B. A solicitation notice with the information you've included on the form will be sent to all City College faculty via email, usually on the Monday following your form submission (holidays excepted).  Faculty should have at least one full business week to apply.

C. The Senate Executive Committee on Committees will review, vote and appoint faculty members the following week.  Note: the committee call may need to be sent out for multiple weeks in the case of a poor applicant pool.  The Chair of CoC will contact you if the appointment will be postponed. 

 

Timeline: The Committee on Committees intends to fill your request within two weeks of your initial request date.

For faculty (full-time and part-time) wishing to be appointed to a committee (other than to a faculty hiring committee--see above): watch for emails announcing the request for faculty to fill committee appointments. Usually these will go out on Mondays, except holidays. A link to a Google form application will be included in the email for you to complete and submit electronically, usually due by the end of the same week on Friday at 5:00 p.m.

Curriculum Review Committee:
Chair: Robert Kostlan

Distance Learning Committee:
Chair: Aileen Gum

Elections Committee:
Chair: Erin Engstrom

Professional Advancement Committee:
Chair: Lisa Will

OTHER REQUESTS

  • Questions or Concerns Associated with 10+1 for the Senate Exec Committee - Inquiry/Concern 
  • Considering Agenda Items for Senate Executive and/or General AS Meeting - Agenda Request