Photo of AbdulDear Black Scholar,

Welcome to San Diego City College. We are beyond excited that
you chose us to start or continue your educational expedition.

Abdimalik Buul, Ed.D.
Director, Student Transition Services

> Read more.


Photo of Erin CharlensOn behalf of the Umoja Community Program, welcome to San Diego City College. At our core is a deep commitment to equity and social justice by our campus faculty, staff, and administration, as well as students. 

Erin Charlens, Ed.D.
Counselor/Coordinator, Umoja Program

Read more.


Message from Administration

Photo of President Ricky ShabazzThank you for choosing San Diego City College to pursue your college education. City College has a rich tradition of assisting ALL students in accomplishing their educational goals. 

Ricky Shabazz, Ed.D.
President

> Read more.

 


Photo of Denise WhisenhuntSan Diego City College is committed to social justice and strives to advance the academic needs of all students. Since 1914, the college has provided exceptional faculty and supportive student resources to help students navigate college and achieve their dreams.

Denise Whisenhunt, J.D.
Vice President, Student Services

> Read more.

 


Photo of NeshaOn behalf of our amazing faculty, classified professionals, and administration, I am delighted to welcome you to San Diego City College!

Nesha Savage, Ed.D.
Dean, Student Development/Matriculation

> Read more.

 

 


Demographics

Demographics


Black Excellence Mentors and Support

Photo of Ahmed
Ahmed Aden
Counselor/Coordinator, HUBU Program
aaden@sdccd.edu 

Photo of Salem
Salem Berhanu
EOPS Counselor
sberhanu@sdccd.edu

Photo of Abdul
Abdimalik Buul, Ed.D.
Director, Student Transition Services
abuul@sdccd.edu

Photo of Erin
Erin Charlens, Ed.D.
Counselor/Coordinator, Umoja Program
echarlens@sdccd.edu

Photo of Edwidge
Edwidge Dupard
Peer Mentor Lab Technician
edupard@sdccd.edu

Photo of Salem
Selam Gebrekristos
NextUp Program Coordinator/Counselor
sgebrekristos@sdccd.edu

Photo of Josolyn
Josolyn Hill, Ed.D.
Supervisor, Student Services
jhill@sdccd.edu

Photo of Andre
Andre Jones

City Scholars, Personal Growth
ajones@sdccd.edu

Photo of Sasha
Sasha Knox
Job Placement Coordinator
sknox@sdccd.edu

Photo of Awana
Awana Payne
Classified Senate President
apayne@sdccd.edu

Photo of Nesha
Nesha Savage, Ed.D.
Dean, Student Development/Matriculation
wsavage@sdccd.edu

Photo of Darius
Darius Spearman

Chair, Black Studies
dspearma@sdccd.edu 


Resources

Logo of Hubu

619.388.3609
http://sdcity.edu/hubu
A-341

 

HUBU

The HUBU program was developed to
address the achievement gap that exists
among Black and Latino male students.
HUBU was designed to help African-
American and Latino male students
succeed: by informing, motivating,
and preparing them for success both
academically and personally.

> Learn more.

Logo of Umoja

619.388.3796
http://sdcity.edu/umoja
A-341

Umoja

Umoja (a Kiswahili word meaning unity)
is a community and critical resource
dedicated to enhancing the cultural and
educational experiences of African-
American and other students.

> Learn more.

Logo of HBCU

 

Transfer Admission Guarantee (TAG)

Historically Black Colleges and
Universities (HBCUs) have an excellent
academic track record. These colleges
and universities are leading institutions
in awarding degrees to African-
American students in the life sciences,
physical sciences, mathematics and
engineering programs.

California community college students
who complete certain academic
requirements are guaranteed transfer to
a participating HBCU.

> Learn more.

Other Programs and Support Services

Logo of CalWorksLogo of City ScholarsLogo of CompletionLogo of DSPS

 

 

 

 

logo of English CenterLogo of EOPSLogo of First Year ServicesLogo of Honors Program

 

 

 

 

Logo of Math CenterLogo of MesaLogo of Student Health Center Logo of Subir Dreamer Center

 

 

 

 

Logo of Summer Logo of the Learning Center Logo of Vets